Another Annabelle Adventure (Returning Heroes Ball 2012)

Alliterative, agreed? Ok, I’m done… Honestly, the words just came–I didn’t spend long on them! Last weekend I attended the Returning Heroes Ball hosted by the Commonwealth Vintage Dancers in Holliston, MA. As usual, it was full of fun and laughs. There were fabulous dresses all around (because of course one of the joys of a ball is to observe dresses–old and new) and wonderful refreshments as well. I don’t have pictures of other people, but I have pictures of me!… You can see a variety of people in the photos on Antonia’s blog, Experiments in Elegance

Me, in Annabelle. I really, really love hoop skirted dresses! And flounces! Whee!!!

I recently gained a new accessory: a deep purple burnout silk velvet scarf, big enough to use as a shawl. The shawl was decommissioned from a friend’s modern wardrobe because it is rather intense for a modern look; however, it works wonderfully as a 19th century piece, I think! I’ve been waiting for about three months to try it out with this outfit… I think it is fabulous and nicely complements the purple in the flowers.  Do you think it works for an 1860s look?

Ooo... Purple silk velvet shawl. So cosy! (and stylish to boot!)
Thanks for taking the photos, gentlemen (you know who you are)!

I’ve been trying out more complicated, poof-filled hair styles in preparation for early 20th century styling and I put some extra effort into this hair-do to try out more poof-ing. From the front my hair has it’s normal 1860s style with a center part where each from section is slightly poofed and rolled back to join the low rolled chignon at the nape of my neck (above, left and right)… but from the back this most recent style has extra poof-age!

See the extra poof at the top of my head?
Poof close-up

 In terms of the hair-styling itself, I think I like the extra poof as it gives more dimension and adds a regal feel to the overall look. Do you like the added poof?

I also decided to rework the hair wreath I’d made for the German Cotillion back in October (left). I’m not sure I like it as a giant mass of flowers, I might rework it again into a crescent shape like the flower piece that matches Belle, my other 1860s ball gown (above right). In terms of the flowers, giant mass or crescent shape?

4 thoughts on “Another Annabelle Adventure (Returning Heroes Ball 2012)

  1. Crescent shape for the hair piece. I LOVE your new additions to Annabelle’s bodice. You look exquisite! :o) And the poof-age commentary about your hair—positively stunning.

  2. Yes, the scarf works as a shawl, color, and all. I like the extra poof at the back of the head; it does look more regal. Love the flowers, but I think you might be right to rework them into a crescent. Although it seemed in one picture there were ribbon streamers attatched to the flowers, that was nice too.

    I have been interested in your naming your dresses. I’ve named cars, my dress form, and other things. I’ll give that some thought. You have no idea how much you and your blog have inspired me. I have purchased fabric for a 1911 corset, will be ordering boning supplies soon. Although I didn’t discover your corset sew-along until you were almost done, I can go back to your blogs and work from them. The purpose behind this is eventually a 1912-ish dress for a wedding. I have had fabric for years ( didn’t know it would be vintage lace before I got to use it!) but I think it will lend it’s self to the 1912 design.

    Thank you so much for the blogs. I have no circle of sewing friends around anymore. It’s wonderful to meet you via the Internet and know there are like-minded people out there. I am inspired again! Thank you, Quinn.

    1. I’m so pleased that you are inspired and excited to share! Thanks for the opinion about changing the flower shape to be a crescent–and maybe adding the ribbons back in as well. I hope to continue to receive comments from you. There are more 1911-1912 posts coming in the next two months, so stay tuned! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.