HSF #2: UFO

Is there enough alphabet soup for you in the title of this post? In case you’re not familiar with those acronyms, it means that this is a post about the Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge #2: Un-Finished Object. In this case, the UFO is my 1820s petticoat from the very end of 2012.

You’ll remember that I wore it to Fezziwig’s Ball in December, but that I hadn’t finished the neckline? I’m pleased to say that it is now entirely complete!

IMG_4187
Inside view. This petticoat has three ties at center back to keep it closed.
IMG_4188
You know I like my insides to be pretty. This is a closeup of the arm hole and the neckline, which is bound with bias before having the lace sewn on.
IMG_4189
The double hem on the left is center front. Diagonally across the photo is the right side of the back.
IMG_4190
This cording was done last month, so it’s not really part of the UFO-ness, but it is still an accomplishment. 16 rows of hand sewn cording all around the hem.
IMG_4191
A close-up of the lace at the hem and my tiny stitches.

You can see some more detail shots in this past post.

And the facts?

Fabric: 3 1/2ish yds of white cotton

Pattern: Adapted from my 1822 green ball gown pattern. It’s pretty much exactly the same except that it doesn’t have sleeves. The ball gown pattern is based off of a pattern in Janet Arnold and styled as in the fashion plate you can see in this previous post.

Year: 1820s. The inspiration image is dated 1828-1835. You can see the inspiration image and my reasoning for it being more 1820s than 1830s here, in this past post.

Notions: About 1 1/2 yds of broderie anglaise trim, cut in half the long way to create double length; about 1 yd of white edging lace; and about 1 yd of 1/4″ cotton twill tape.

How historically accurate?: Very, having used modern materials. The pattern is from Janet Arnold, so you know it is good on accuracy. The entire petticoat is hand sewn and made of accurate fabric. The lace is machine made and the content is almost certainly not entirely accurate, but it is in the style of the early 19th century and the lace in the inspiration image. I’m not 100% sure that all of my seam finishes are perfectly accurate for this garment, but they are accurate for the period as a whole.

Hours to complete: I’m always bad at estimating this. Let’s say 120 hours.

First worn: To Fezziwig’s Ball in December 2012.

Total cost: Approzimately $13.

4 thoughts on “HSF #2: UFO

  1. Quinn, what lovely work! You have no idea how much your blog inspires me. And I am so impressed with your photographs becasue I can actually see the details. Many other blogs disappoint becasue the photography is so poor I can’t tell what the blooger is talking about.

    1. Thanks, Helen! Having a camera that takes clear pictures is super helpful, I can’t take much credit myself. 😉 But that is a great point, and I’m flattered that you made it!

  2. Hi Quinn, Once a beautiful example of historical sewing. Nice to see a little bit of my lace there 🙂
    I’m always overwhelmed by you ability for accuracy with all that hand stitching. It’s not just my arthritis, but my patience that would be tried. But then again I have done 100+ hours of beading on a number of dresses.
    I was just wondering where your Janet Arnold pattern source was from? It’s not in Book 1, have I missed one of her publications?
    I’ve been loosely following the Sense & Sensibility that Cindy Chan recommended on her challenge #1 1813 petticoat.

    1. Yes, I’m glad you recognized it! You must have patience of some sort for that much beading! I think the patience stems from loving what you are working on.

      The Janet Arnold pattern I referred to is the 1824-7 pelisse-robe in Patterns of Fashion 1. I used the skirt pattern and the basic shape of the bodice pattern (without all of the pleating). The sleeve is a fuller version of my 1812 square neck gown sleeve.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.